Lady of Steel and Straw (Hardcover)

Lady of Steel and Straw By Erica Ivy Rodgers Cover Image
$19.99
Usually ships in 2-9 days.

Description


Star-crossed lovers grapple with forbidden attraction and a growing army of ghostly dead in this swashbuckling YA fantasy debut.

After ten years of exile, following regicide in the House of Tristain, an alarming royal edict is delivered to the immortal scarecrow Guardians who once defended the crown: surrender themselves to the church of the Silent Gods, or stand accused of further treason. But with a puppet prince set to take the throne and vengeful wraiths appearing with alarming frequency, something foul and sinister is at work in the kingdom of Niveaux.

Lady Charlotte Sand was born to calm the restless dead. A headstrong heroine, she refuses to relinquish her family’s lavender Guardian to the Cardinal’s Watch—a rash misstep that costs her brother his life and sets her on a path for revenge.

For pious and handsome Captain Luc de Montaigne, it’s an excruciating predicament. His long-lost, childhood love has triggered a faction war that could tear the realm asunder. Now Charlotte and Luc must choose between killing one another and stepping closer to victory—or yielding to the electricity between them.

Heartily inspired by The Three Musketeers, this multiple-perspective narrative features a unique system of bone and herbal magic, sultry banter, and a feisty cast of well-rounded supporting characters. This rousing first entry in the Waking Hearts fantasy duology is a gorgeous read and an excellent pick for fans of Rin Chupeco and Margaret Rogerson.

About the Author


Erica Ivy Rodgers lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband, two children, and one very lovable, frenetic pit bull mix. When she isn’t writing or driving kids around, you can usually find her starting another DIY home project in the woods, rock climbing, or beneath an ever-growing pile of bookish quilting fabric.

Praise For…


"A unique premise with a thoughtful commentary about the intersection of religion, colonization, and greed. . ."The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"A duology opener featuring a cleverly built world populated by appealing characters."—Kirkus Reviews

"Appeal with fantasy fans."—Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781682636657
ISBN-10: 1682636658
Publisher: Peachtree Teen
Publication Date: June 4th, 2024
Pages: 432
Language: English