Smaller Sister (Hardcover)

Smaller Sister By Maggie Edkins Willis, Maggie Edkins Willis (Illustrator) Cover Image
$22.99
Usually ships in 2-9 days.

Description


A moving, relatable middle grade graphic novel about the everlasting bond of sisterhood, perfect for fans of Real Friends, Squished, Invisible Emmie, and Allergic.

Lucy's always looked up to her big sister, Olivia, even though the two are polar opposites. But then, Lucy notices Olivia starts to change. Olivia doesn't want to play with Lucy anymore, she's unhappy with the way she looks, and she's refusing to eat her dinner. Finally, Lucy discovers that her sister is not just growing up: Olivia is also struggling with an eating disorder.

While her family is focused on her sister's recovery, Lucy is left alone to navigate school and friendships. Lucy feels lonely and like she's always on the verge of messing up.

But with time, work, and self-love, both sisters begin to heal. Soon enough, Olivia and Lucy find their way back to each other—because sisters are forever.

Writing from personal experience, debut author Maggie Edkins Willis delivers a thoughtful, sensitive, and universally relatable story in Smaller Sister. Sure to resonate with fans of Nat Enough and Click.

A Texas Little Mavericks 2023 Graphic Novel Reading List Selection
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2022

About the Author


Maggie Edkins Willis was born in St. Louis, Missouri and grew up in southern Maine. She designed and art directed books for children's publishers for seven years before embarking on a career crafting stories of her own. She now lives in Princeton, New Jersey with her husband, a college football coach, and their husky mix, Mozzarella. When she's not writing or drawing, you can usually find her reading, running, or botching muffin recipes. Her debut graphic novel, Smaller Sister, is based on her own experience as the youngest of three sisters.

Maggie Edkins Willis was born in St. Louis, Missouri and grew up in southern Maine. She designed and art directed books for children's publishers for seven years before embarking on a career crafting stories of her own. She now lives in Princeton, New Jersey with her husband, a college football coach, and their husky mix, Mozzarella. When she's not writing or drawing, you can usually find her reading, running, or botching muffin recipes. Her debut graphic novel, Smaller Sister, is based on her own experience as the youngest of three sisters.

Praise For…


"[A] resonant and achingly real work... Middle grade readers will be utterly absorbed by this heartfelt graphic novel that explores the complexities of family dynamics, body ­image, and self-acceptance." —School Library Journal, starred review

"
The accessible tone and format allow a difficult topic to be gently revealed with painful honesty balanced by humor and silliness... Compassionately approaches the stigma and mystery surrounding eating disorders." —Kirkus, starred review

"
Willis’s cathartic debut foregrounds a deep sisterly bond at a crossroads."Publishers Weekly

"[T]his captivating story together is [held together by] Lucy and Livy’s unbreakable bond of sisterhood, authentically portrayed in both art and text." —Horn Book



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250767417
ISBN-10: 1250767415
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: June 14th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English